Aunt Sassy Cupcake from Baked

Pistachio Cupcake with Milk and Honey Buttercream

One of my favorite things to do on the weekend is to play in the kitchen.  I have been crazy busy at work the past few weeks and decided to make a treat for the people who have helped me out.  I woke up Sunday morning and the sun was shining, I was craving a tropical drink and looking forward to watching some sunny golf at Pebble Beach. Birds were chirping and a-holes were still lining the street with chairs to reserve parking spaces, go figure.  We finally dug out the Volvo and it pretty much was our first trip to the grocery store since the big snow.  Before we left the house I searched through a few books and decided to make Baked’s Aunt Sassy cake in the form of a cupcake.  I have been staring at this cake for awhile and I wanted to make something a bit more unusual, something with some color, something new… after all spring is in the air.  The cake is made with finely ground pistachios and is not too sweet.  It has a very pretty light green color to it and the batter tastes so yummy.  The frosting was heavenly… a buttercream with milk, vanilla and honey, what more can I say except pure f’ing genius.  The frosting had a such a rich texture and was really fun to pipe.  I finished them off with a dusting of crushed pistachio and a drizzle of honey.  The cupcakes were such a hit at work and they are just super pretty to look at.  Thank you Matt and Renato for sharing this recipe!

8 thoughts on “Aunt Sassy Cupcake from Baked

  1. I have searched high and low for a pistachio cake recipe and today I ran across your blog. Just wanted to say thank you. I am going out and purchase this book today. Your cupcake looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

