Belated Birthday Cupcakes for Kathy

Maple Bacon Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

I had no time to bake a Birthday treat for my baking buddy in time for her Birthday this year so I thought I would bake something really yummy this weekend for her.  I decided to make some maple bacon cupcakes frosted with maple cream cheese frosting.  My goal was to make a cupcakes that tasted just like pancakes and bacon with syrup.  This batter was based off the recipe from the book Baked Explorations (a Brooklyn based bakery).  I skipped breakfast today and starting cooking some bacon with my lovely bacon press (if you love bacon, I suggest you pick one of these up).  After it cooled, I cut up the strips into little pieces and began to work on the batter.  I used grade B maple syrup in the batter and then when it was all done I tossed the bacon with some flour (this prevents them from sinking to the bottom of the cupcake) and folded them in.  I filled the muffin tins with batter and placed them in the oven.  Total baking time was about 22 minutes.  Our kitchen smelled wicked awesome while these were baking.  I sampled them warm from the oven and they were great.  Then one more after it had completely cooled and it was even better.  Later in the evening, after I finished cooking beef barley stew, I went ahead and made the frosting.  Some maple syrup, butter, cream cheese, powdered sugar and serious whipping action and I reached the perfect flavor to top them off.  All of the flavors work so well together in this cupcake and I am in love with this recipe since I am a huge fan of pancakes and bacon.

6 thoughts on “Belated Birthday Cupcakes for Kathy

  1. Hi – I love this idea! Is there a recipe you could pass along? I would like to make these for my significant other for valentine’s day!

    Thanks!

  2. These were every bit at fantastic as they look. I’m a big fan of salty/sweet combo and these cupcakes fit the bill. You’re a pro, A. Thanks so much for sharing these cupcakes with me! Delicious!
    Kathy

Leave a Reply

